Whether you’re a new sports bettor or an experienced one, you’ll want to learn all about the betting rules for each sport you bet on. These rules are the foundation for sports betting. You’ll also need to understand what types of wagers you can place. These include moneyline bets, over/under bets and totals bets.

In addition, it is against the rules for anyone affiliated with a team or league to place wagers on any event. This includes players, team staff members and tournament officials. It also applies to individuals associated with clubs at lower levels of the men’s or women’s league systems, and match officials at FA Level 4 or below.

The code is designed to prevent corruption within the world of sports betting. In 1919, gambler Joseph Sullivan paid eight White Sox players (Oscar Felsch, Oscar Schindler, Arnold Gandil, Fred McMullin, Shoeless Joe Jackson, Charles Risberg, George Weaver, and Claude Williams) to lose the World Series. It was considered the most significant gambling scandal in sports history.

Permit holders must notify the Department and sports governing bodies of any allegations of prohibited conduct. Permit holders must also cooperate in investigations by those governing bodies or law-enforcement agencies. This may involve sharing account-level betting information or audio/video files relating to a person placing a wager.